Donny Hathaway – Everything Is Everything (180g LP)


In Stock


Vinyl Weight


In Stock

High Quality Pure Analogue 180g Vinyl LP!

Many a musical career began in the gospel church choirs of the black communities, but that of Donny Hathaway must certainly be one of the most meteoric. Rolling Stone magazine named him the 49th greatest singer (of 100) of all time, though this might sound somewhat abstract. But just the very first few bars of the opening number “Voices Inside” promises a programme in which the instrumental and human voices are on a par. Just listen to the impressively saturate sound and clear phrasing of the wind instruments which range from discreet to brassy. Spiced with peppery volleys on the clavinet, Hathaway’s soul sound breaks into new ground with harmonically fresh blues (“I Believe To My Soul”), soars passionately upwards (“Misty”) and ploughs through a percussive, dry and cheerful confusion in the number entitled “Sugar Lee”. Every single arrangement profits to the full from the excellence of the musicians and each number is therefore quite unique. Softly cushioned, melodious togetherness (“Trying’ Times”) seems just as natural as prayer-like gospel song (“Thank You Master For My Soul”), which ventures into the realms of free jazz harmonies to the glory of God.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the master tapes through to the cutting head.

SKU: 4260019715821 Category:
    Donny Hathaway - lead vocals (All tracks), background vocals (tracks 1-8), pianos (including electric) (All tracks), organ (track 9), additional bass (8), keyboard bass (9), arranger, conductor
    Master Henry Gibson - conga (track 8)
    King Curtis - guitar (track 3)
    Phil Upchurch - bass guitar (3-4, 6-7), guitar (1-4, 6-8)
    John Littlejohn - guitar, vocals
    John Avant - trombone
    Johnny Board - tenor saxophone
    Lenard Druss - tenor saxophone
    Oscar Brashear - trumpet
    Clifford P. Davis - alto saxophone
    Aaron Dodd - tuba
    Morris Ellis - trombone
    Marshall Hawkins - bass (tracks 5, 8)
    Willie Henderson - baritone saxophone
    John Howell - trumpet
    Morris Jennings - drums (tracks 1-4, 6-8)
    Robert A. Lewis - trumpet
    Cyril Touff - bass trumpet
    John Lounsberry - French horn
    Ethel Merker - French horn
    Paul A. Teryett - French horn
    Don Myrick - alto saxophone
    Ric Powell - drums (track 5), percussion (1-4, 6-8)
    Louis Satterfield - bass (tracks 1-3)
    The Vashonettes - backing vocals (track 9)
A1Voices Inside (Everything Is Everything)3:28
A2Je Vous Aime3:31
A3I Believe To My Soul3:51
A5Sugar Lee4:03
A6Tryin' Times3:13
B1Thank You Master (For My Soul)5:50
B2The Ghetto6:57
B3To Be Young, Gifted And Black6:45

Vinyl Weight

Based on 0 reviews

0.0 overall

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

There are no reviews yet.