The Kronos Quartet – Folk Songs (LP)


In Stock


Vinyl Weight


In Stock

Label: NONESUCH 559151-1
Vinyl LP Features Vocals From Natalie Merchant, Rhiannon Giddens & More!

For more than 40 years, San Francisco’s Kronos Quartet-David Harrington (violin), John Sherba (violin), Hank Dutt (viola), and Sunny Yang (cello)-has combined a spirit of fearless exploration with a commitment to continually re-imagining the string quartet experience. In the process, Kronos has become one of the world’s most celebrated and influential ensembles, performing thousands of concerts, releasing more than 50 recordings, collaborating with many of the world’s most eclectic composers and performers, and commissioning over 850 works and arrangements for string quartet.

When Nonesuch Records celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2014, with festivals at London’s Barbican Centre and New York’s Brooklyn Academy of Music (BAM), Kronos Quartet joined forces with four labelmates-Sam Amidon, Olivia Chaney, Rhiannon Giddens, and Natalie Merchant-to perform a concert entitled Folk Songs. The group later recorded the songs, most of which are traditional with contemporary arrangements, with Doug Petty as the album’s producer.

SKU: 075597938746 Category:
  • Sam Amidon, vocals, guitar
  • Olivia Chaney, vocals, harmonium, percussion
  • Rhiannon Giddens, vocals
  • Natalie Merchant, vocals
Side A:
  1. Oh Where (with Sam Amidon)
  2. Ramblin' Boy (with Olivia Chaney)
  3. The Butcher's Boy (wjith Natalie Merchant)
  4. Factory Girl (with Rhiannon Giddens)
Side B:
  1. Last Kind Words
  2. I See The Sign (with Sam Amidon)
  3. Montaigne, que tu es haute (with Olivia Chaney)
  4. Johnny Has Gone For A Soldier (with Natalie Merchant)
  5. Lullaby (with Rhiannon Giddens)

Vinyl Weight

Based on 0 reviews

0.0 overall

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

There are no reviews yet.